Tennis is proudly presented by Broadview Networks, an Official Supporter of the 2017 Canada Summer Games. Tennis competitions are from Monday, August 7 - Friday, August 11, 2017 at Winnipeg Lawn Tennis Club. Click here to see detailed tennis schedule. Entry to tennis competition is free courtesy of Manitoba's Credit Unions. No ticket is required. 

Tennis originated from a 12th century French game called paume (meaning palm); it was a court game where the ball was struck with the hand. Paume evolved into jeu de paume and rackets were used. The game spread and evolved in Europe. In 1873, Major Walter Wingfield invented a game called Sphairistikè (Greek for "playing ball") from which modern outdoor tennis evolved.  Tennis was part of the inaugural Canada Summer Games in 1969, and has been a regular event over the years.


Each province and territory may enter a team of four males and four females.

  • Two males and two females must be under 16 as of January 1, 2017
  • Two males and two females must be under 18 as of January 1, 2017


  • Frédéric Niemeyer (1993)
  • Marie-Eve Pelletier (1993) 
  • Stephanie Dubois (2001)
  • Frank Dancevic (2001) 
  • Rebecca Marino (2005) 
  • Melanie Marois (2005) 
  • Gabriela Dabrowski (2009)
  • Filip Peliwo (2009)
  • Carol Zhao (2009)
  • Eugenie Bouchard (2009)
  • Brayden Schnur (2013) 
  • Erin Routliffe (2013)
Twitter Feed: