Hall d’honneur des Jeux du Canada

Le Hall d’honneur des Jeux du Canada, c’est quoi?

Le Hall d’honneur rend hommage aux anciens des Jeux du Canada qui se sont illustrés pendant l’événement et au cours de leur carrière, tout en contribuant au rayonnement du mouvement des Jeux du Canada. À la suite d’un appel de candidatures pancanadien, les candidats retenus sont officiellement intronisés lors d’une cérémonie avant chaque édition des Jeux. Le Hall d’honneur a été inauguré en 2007, lors des Jeux d’hiver du Canada de Whitehorse.

Les candidats sont admissibles à l’intronisation dans l’une des trois catégories suivantes :

Athlètes :

Les candidats doivent s’être illustrés sur la scène nationale ou internationale. Ils devaient aussi avoir appuyé les Jeux du Canada en participant à des activités promotionnelles, en s’engageant auprès des communautés ou en prenant part à d’autres activités d’importance. Les candidats doivent avoir pris leur retraite.

Bâtisseurs

Les candidats sont des entraîneurs, des gestionnaires, des officiels, des administrateurs, des bénévoles, du personnel de mission, des commanditaires ou des membres des médias, actifs ou pas, qui ont contribué de façon exceptionnelle aux Jeux pendant au moins dix ans. Les candidats peuvent avoir pris leur retraite ou non.

Anciens distingués:

Les candidats doivent avoir participé aux Jeux du Canada (en tant qu’athlètes, entraîneurs, gérants ou membres du personnel de soutien technique), puis accompli des réalisations importantes dans un domaine autre que le sport. Les candidats doivent être des modèles d’éthique dans leur profession et leur communauté.

Comment fonctionne l’appel de candidatures?

Pour en savoir plus sur le processus actuel de mise en candidature au Hall d'honneur et pour accéder au formulaire, cliquez ici.

Mettez en candidature un athlète, un bâtisseur ou un ancien distingué pour le Hall d’honneur en remplissant le formulaire d’ici le 20 février 2024.

Qui a été intronisé au Hall d’honneur des Jeux du Canada?

Inauguré en 2007, le Hall d’honneur a intronisé de nombreux anciens de renom au fil des ans, dont Cassie Campbell (2009), Catriona Le May Doan (2011), Nicolas Gill (2015), Carla MacLeod (2017), et plus récemment, Jennifer Heil, Cindy Klassen et Bruny Surin (2019). Voici la liste des intronisés :

Jeux du Canada 2007 : Jack Pelech (Builder, Ontario)

Jeux du Canada 2009 : Bob Secord (bâtisseur, Ontario), Roly McLenahan (bâtisseur, Nouveau-Brunswick), Bill Clarke (bâtisseur, Saskatchewan), Don Johnson (bâtisseur, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador), John Wilbert (bâtisseur, Î.-P.-É.), Dave "Eli" MacEachern (athlète, Î.-P.-É.), Cassie Campbell (athlète, Ontario)

Jeux du Canada 2011: Catriona Le May Doan (Athlète, Saskatchewan), Colleen Jones (Athlète, Nouvelle-Écosse), Guy Rousseau (Bâtisseur, Québec), Jim Morell (Bâtisseur, Nouveau-Brunswick)

Jeux du Canada 2013: Larry Smith (Bâtisseur, Québec), Annie Pelletier (Athlète, Québec), Pierre Harvey (Athlète, Québec), Claude Hardy (Bâtisseur, Québec), Peter Lesaux (Bâtisseur)

Jeux du Canada 2015 : Nicolas Gill (Athlète, Québec), Joy Ward-Fera (Athlète, Colombie-Britannique), Abdul Shaikh (Bâtisseur, Colombie-Britannique), Sandrine Charron (Bâtisseuse, Québec)

Jeux du Canada 2017: Carla MacLeod (Athlète, Alberta), Claire Carver-Dias (Athlète, Ontario), Ted Bigelow (Bâtisseur, Manitoba), Blair McIntosh (Bâtisseur, Ontario)

Jeux du Canada 2019 : Bruny Surin (Athlète, Québec), Jenn Heil (Athlète, Alberta), Cindy Klassen (Athlète, Manitoba), Clare Drake (Bâtisseuse, Alberta), Elizabeth Cannon (Ancienne distinguée, Alberta)

Jeux du Canada 2022 : Brian McKeever (athlète, Alberta), Steve Nash (athlète, Colombie-Britannique), Don Goodwin (bâtisseur, Ontario), Tom Quinn (bâtisseur, Québec), Stacey Allaster (ancien élève distingué, Ontario) et Michael Strange (ancien élève distingué, Ontario).

Jeux du Canada 2023 : Marc Gagnon (Athlète, Québec), Heather Moyse (Athlète, Î.-P.-É.), Sami Jo Small (Athlète, Manitoba), Vicky Keith (Bâtisseuse, Ontario), Dr. Heather Morrison (Ancienne distinguée, Î.-P.-É.)

Vous n’avez pas trouvé la réponse à votre question?
Communiquez avec nous

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir notre bulletin d'information.

Merci ! Votre demande a été reçue !
Oups ! Un problème est survenu lors de la soumission du formulaire.

canada games hall of honour

What is the Canada Games Hall of Honour?

The Hall of Honour recognizes exceptional Canada Games alumni who have sparked greatness by distinguishing themselves during the Games and beyond, while contributing to the growth of the Canada Games Movement. Following a nation-wide call for nominations, the inductees for the Hall of Honour are officially inducted into the Hall during a ceremony prior to the start of each Canada Games. The Hall of Honour was established at the 2007 Canada Winter Games in Whitehorse, Yukon.

Nominees are currently eligible for induction in one of three categories:

Athletes:

The athlete category recognizes past Canada Games athletes who have achieved significant success in national and/or international competition. Nominees should also have demonstrated support for the Canada Games through promotional events, community engagement or other meaningful activities. Nominees must be inactive.

Builders:

The builder category recognizes past coaches, managers, officials, administrators, volunteers, mission staff, sponsors or members of the media who have made outstanding efforts and had an immeasurable impact for more than 10 years within the Canada Games Movement. Nominees may be active or inactive.

Distinguished Alumni:

The distinguished alumni category recognizes any individual who has participated in a previous Canada Games (as an athlete, coach, manager, or technical support personnel) and has since gone on to meaningful accomplishments in a field other than sport. Nominees exemplify the highest levels of ethical leadership in their profession and their community.

How does the nomination process work?

More information regarding the current Hall of Honour process, including the nomination form, can be found here.

To nominate an athlete, builder or distinguished alumni for the Hall of Honour, please complete the nomination form no later than February 20, 2024.

Who is currently inducted into the Canada Games Hall of Honour

Established in 2007, the Canada Games Hall of Honour counts some of the finest athletes in Canadian sport among its ranks, including Cassie Campbell (2009), Catriona Le May Doan (2011), Nicolas Gill (2015), Carla MacLeod (2017), and most recently Jennifer Heil, Cindy Klassen and Bruny Surin (2019). The complete list of inductees includes:

2007 Canada Games: Jack Pelech (Builder, Ontario)

2009 Canada Games: Bob Secord (Builder, Ontario), Roly McLenahan (Builder, New Brunswick), Bill Clarke (Builder, Saskatchewan), Don Johnson (Builder, Newfoundland and Labrador), John Wilbert (Builder, PEI), Dave “Eli” MacEachern (Athlete, PEI), Cassie Campbell (Athlete, Ontario)

2011 Canada Games: Catriona Le May Doan (Athlete, Saskatchewan), Colleen Jones (Athlete, Nova Scotia), Guy Rousseau (Builder, Quebec), Jim Morell (Builder, New Brunswick)

2013 Canada Games: Larry Smith (Builder, Quebec), Annie Pelletier (Athlete, Quebec), Pierre Harvey (Athlete, Quebec), Claude Hardy (Builder, Quebec), Peter Lesaux (Builder)

2015 Canada Games: Nicolas Gill (Athlete, Quebec), Joy Ward-Fera (Athlete, British Columbia), Abdul Shaikh (Builder, British Columbia), Sandrine Charron (Builder, Quebec)

2017 Canada Games: Carla MacLeod (Athlete, Alberta), Claire Carver-Dias (Athlete, Ontario), Ted Bigelow (Builder, Manitoba), Blair McIntosh (Builder, Ontario)

2019 Canada Games: Bruny Surin (Athlete, Quebec), Jenn Heil (Athlete, Alberta), Cindy Klassen (Athlete, Manitoba), Clare Drake (Builder, Alberta), Elizabeth Cannon (Distinguished Alumni, Alberta)

2022 Canada Games: Brian McKeever (Athlete, Alberta), Steve Nash (Athlete, British Columbia), Don Goodwin (Builder, Ontario), Tom Quinn (Builder, Quebec), Stacey Allaster (Distinguished Alum, Ontario) and Michael Strange (Distinguished Alum, Ontario)

2023 Canada Games: Marc Gagnon (Athlete, Quebec), Heather Moyse (Athlete, PEI), Sami Jo Small (Athlete, Manitoba), Vicky Keith (Builder, Ontario), Dr. Heather Morrison (Distinguished Alum, PEI)

Didn’t find the answers you wanted?
Get in Touch

Sign up to receive our newsletter.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.